Callaghan Innovation Research Papers

Back to Research Papers

TitleSystematic study of sensitized LaF3: Eu3+ nanoparticles
Publication TypeJournal Article
Year of Publication2011
AuthorsJanssens, S., Williams G.V.M., and Clarke D.J.
JournalJournal of Applied Physics
Date Published2011
ISSN00218979 (ISSN)
KeywordsJudd-Ofelt parameters, Magnetic dipole transition, Nanomagnetics, Nanoparticle sizes, Nanoparticles, Non-radiative recombinations, Oleic acid, Optical amplifications, Optical study, Photoluminescence intensities, PL intensity, PL lifetime, Raman active modes, Stimulated emission cross section, Systematic study, Thenoyltrifluoroacetone, Unit-cell volume
AbstractWe have performed a systematic structural, vibrational, and optical study of LaF3: Eu3+ nanoparticles capped with oleic acid (OA) or OA and sensitized with thenoyltrifluoroacetone (TTA). The average nanoparticle size was around 11 nm for all Eu3+ concentrations. A shift in the energy of the Raman active modes is observed with increasing Eu3+ concentration that can be accounted for by a decrease in the unit cell volume. Sensitization by TTA was observed and resulted in an 18 000% increase in the photoluminescence (PL) intensity for TTA/OA capped LaF3: Eu3+ nanoparticles when compared with OA capped LaF3: Eu3+ nanoparticles. There is also a large increase in the D50 → F7 2 PL intensity, when normalized to the D5 0 → F7 1 PL magnetic dipole transition intensity, for TTA/OA capped nanoparticles. The changes in the PL intensities, PL lifetimes, Judd-Ofelt parameters, stimulated emission cross sections, and quantum efficiencies, for OA and TTA/OA capped LaF3: Eu3+ nanoparticles with increasing Eu3+ concentration can be accounted for by a model that separates the Eu3+ sites into sites near the surface and Eu3+ sites in the core as well as nonradiative recombination sites near the surface. The large increase in PL intensity due to TTA sensitization means that TTA capped LaF3: Eu3+ can potentially be used for applications that include optical amplification. © 2011 American Institute of Physics.

Back to top