News and events

Congratulations 2020 Hi-Tech Award finalists!

This article was published on 9 April 2020

Callaghan Innovation warmly congratulates this year’s NZ Hi-Tech Awards finalists who, for the first time, received the news of their success via a ‘virtual’ announcement. 

Organisers of the prestigious tech event - NZ Hi-Tech Trust - harnessed the power of technology to live stream the announcements, with COVID-19 throwing a curveball at the planned physical events. 

Bruce Jarvis, acting general manager of market, engagement, experience and sectors at Callaghan Innovation says: “It’s absolutely fantastic to see such a diverse group of companies in this year’s finalists."

"Sir Paul Callaghan spoke about the need to develop our knowledge economy for the future of the country, and that message has been given even more importance with the current challenges we face as a nation amid the COVID-19 pandemic." 

“According to Stats NZ, export sales of ICT software and services reached $2.1 billion in 2019, an increase of 47% from 2017. This is a positive sign that NZ is heading in the right direction with our tech innovations.  But we have the potential to push innovation and growth much further in the tech space,” Jarvis says. 

Callaghan Innovation sponsors the Māori Hi-Tech Company of the Year Award. Finalists in the category this year are Emergency Q, Kiwa Digital, NZ Trade Group and Plink Software.

Aroha Armstrong, group manager of Māori economy at Callaghan Innovation, says the finalists in this category continue to demonstrate expertise, ambition and huge potential in technological innovation.  

“This year’s finalists are using scalable technology to reduce emergency room waiting times, improve efficiency and connectivity for tradies, and to connect and educate Māori and global communities.”

Emergency Q is a finalist in three categories this year for its app that forecasts wait times for non-emergency patients who have presented at the emergency department (ED). The app also gives patients alternative treatment options, and provides costs for these options, in a bid to ease the pressure on EDs. 

“These types of innovations show the level of excellence we can expect to see from Māori innovators,” Armstrong says. 

“It’s exciting to see ambitious entrepreneurs get recognised at this prestigious event and Callaghan Innovation is proud to be part of highlighting Māori success and leadership in technology.”

The 2020 Hi-Tech Award winners will be announced on 21 August.  


The 2020 Hi-Tech Awards finalists are:

PwC Hi-Tech Company of the Year

● Crimson Education

● ezyVet

● Fingermark

● Harmoney

● Serko

● Spidertracks

Coretex Hi-Tech Emerging Company of the Year

● Fuel 50


● RedShield

● Taska Prosthetics

● Tradify

NZ Growth Capital Partners Hi-Tech Start-Up Company of the Year

● Dawn Aerospace

● Emergency Q

● FileInvite

● Joyous

IBM Most Inspiring Individual Award

● Jenene Crossan

● Michelle Dickinson

● Bruce Gordon

● Mitchell Pham

● Serge van Dam

Callaghan Innovation Maori Hi-Tech Company of the Year

● Emergency Q

● Kiwa Digital

● NZ Trade Group

● Plink Software

Duncan Cotterill Innovative Hi-Tech Software Solution Award

● Orbica

● PaySauce

● Raygun

● RedShield

● Rocos

Kiwibank Hi-Tech Innovative Services Award

● Beca

● Blackhawk

● Darkscope International

● Emergency Q

● Orbica

Endace Innovative Hi-Tech Hardware Product Award

● Dawn Aerospace


● Manta5

● Shotover Camera Systems

● Tectonus

Paymark Best Contribution to the NZ Tech Sector by an Internationally Headquartered Company

● Humanitix


NZTE Best Hi-Tech Solution for the Agritech Sector

● BBC Technologies

● Compac

● PaySauce

● Regen

Xero Hi-Tech Young Achiever

● Jamie Beaton

● Michael Lovegrove

● Terry Miller

● Craig Piggott

● Stefan Powell

● Sian Simpson

● Ian White

Most Innovative Deep Tech Solution

● ArcActive

● Mint Innovation

● Tectonus

ATEED Most Innovative Hi-Tech Creative Technology Solution


● Umajin

● Weta Workshop

Visa Best Hi-Tech Solution for the Public Good


● Malaghan Institute

● Precision Driven Health


See the NZ Hi-Tech Awards website for more details.