News and events

Congratulations 2019 Hi-Tech Award finalists!

open this image in new window: 2019 Hi-Tech Awards - Callaghan Innovation

This article was published on 28 March 2019

Callaghan Innovation, New Zealand’s innovation agency, warmly congratulates this year’s NZ Hi-Tech Awards finalists.

The stellar list of awards finalists covers tech innovators and tech businesses of all sizes - the majority of which are Callaghan Innovation customers. 

Erica Lloyd, GM of Market, Engagement and Sectors at the government agency, says: “This year is a great opportunity to celebrate the hard work of New Zealand innovators who are solving a wide range of problems - across business and society - and generating high-value jobs and helping to diversify and grow our economy in the process.”

Callaghan Innovation sponsors the Māori Hi-Tech Company of the Year Award. Finalists in the category this year are Augmented Reality Applications, Emergency Q, Robotics Plus and Takiwa.

“Our Māori hi-tech finalists underline, once again, the talent, ambition and skill within the Māori Economy,” says Erica. “They are creating businesses that have the potential to win on the global stage. Robotics Plus, for example, which has an impressive six finalist placings this year, is already making waves internationally, using robots to tackle the global skills shortage in agriculture.”

The 2019 Hi-Tech Award winners will be announced at a gala dinner on 24 May in Auckland. 


The 2019 Hi-Tech Awards finalists are:

PwC Hi-Tech Company of the Year

·        EROAD

·        Link Engine Management

·        Movio

·        Pushpay

·        Serko

·        Vend

Coretex Hi-Tech Emerging Company of the Year

·        Auror

·        FaceMe

·        Fergus Software

·        PredictHQ

·        Redshield Security

·        Robotics Plus

New Zealand Venture Investment Fund (NZVIF) Hi-Tech Start-Up Company of the Year

·        Mint Innovation

·        Sharesies

·        Techtonus

·        Whip Around

IBM Most Inspiring Individual Award

·        Peter Beck

·        David Hallett

·        Craig Hudson

·        Victoria MacLennan

·        Simon Moutter

·        Sam Payton

Callaghan Innovation Maori Hi-Tech Company of the Year

·        Augmented Reality Applications

·        Emergency Q (Healthcare Applications)

·        Robotics Plus

·        Takiwa

Duncan Cotterill Innovative Hi-Tech Software Solution Award

·        eStar

·        Kiwi Wealth

·        PredictHQ

·        Redshield Security

·        TradeMe

·        Volpara Health Technologies

Kiwibank Hi-Tech Innovative Services Award

·        Emergency Q by Healthcare Applications

·        HNRY

·        PredictHQ

·        Serko

·        Xero

Endace Innovative Hi-Tech Hardware Product Award

·        Aporo – Robotics Plus

·        Bluelab

·        Manta5

·        Robotic Log Scaler – Robotics Plus

·        Taska Prosthetics

Quick Circuit Best Contribution to the NZ Tech Sector by an Internationally Headquartered Company

·        IBM

·        MYOB

·        Talent International

·        Vodafone

NZTE Best Hi-Tech Solution for the Agritech Sector

·        Agicom

·        Aporo – Robotics Plus

·        Bluelab

·        Livestock Improvement Corporation

·        Robotic Log Scaler – Robotics Plus

Xero Hi-Tech Young Achiever

·        Jamie Beaton

·        Scott Herschberger

·        Holly Norton

·        Craig Piggott

·        John Roy

·        Daniel Thomson

ATEED Most Innovative Hi-Tech Creative Technology Solution

·        Datacom

·        Lazyworm Applications

·        My Reflection

·        Spalk

Visa Best HiTech Solution for the Public Good

·        Collaborate

·        The Cacophony Project

·        The University of Waikato


See the NZ Hi-Tech Awards website for more details.