News and events

2016 Hi-Tech Awards winners announced

This article was published on 21 May 2016

Precision Seafood and Vista Group among the winners at the 2016 New Zealand Hi-Tech Awards.

Callaghan Innovation congratulates the winners and finalists at the 2016 New Zealand Hi-Tech Awards, including Precision Seafood Harvesting for taking home the inaugural Māori Innovation Award, which Callaghan Innovation sponsored.

The award went to Precision Seafood Harvesting for its revolutionary technology that does away with traditional trawl nets to allow fish to be landed alive and in perfect condition. They beat a strong field of companies drawn from a record number of entries for a new category.

Callaghan Innovation has worked with all the winners of the awards, which were announced in Auckland on 20 May.

Vista Group was the supreme winner, being awarded the PwC Hi-Tech Company of the Year category.

The New Zealand Hi-Tech Awards celebrate the success of our producers of goods and services from the software, electronics, telecommunications, mobile, agritech, creative and other hi-tech industries.

The 2016 NZ Hi-Tech Award winners

Callaghan Innovation Maori Innovation Award
Winner: Precision Seafood Harvesting

2016 Flying Kiwis and inductees into the Tait Communications Hi-Tech Hall of Fame
Katherine Corich
Sam Morgan

Fronde Hi-Tech Young Achiever Award
Winner: Danu Abeysuriya – CEO of Rush Digital

Qual IT Best Technology Solution for the Public Sector Award
Winner: Silverstripe

IBM Most Innovative Company Award
Winner: 90 Seconds

ATEED Best Technology Solution for the Creative Sector Award
Winner: 90 Seconds

Duncan Cotterill Innovative Software Product Award
Winner: Movio

Endace Innovative Hardware Product Award
Winner: Aeroqual

Vocus Communications Innovative Services Award
Winner: Flick Electric

NZTE Most Innovative Agritech Product Award
Winner: Outpost Central

Quick Circuit Innovative Mobile Award
Winner: Serato

New Zealand Venture Investment Fund Hi-Tech Start-up Company of the Year
Winner: Figured

Coretex Hi-Tech Emerging Company of the Year
Winner: ARANZ Medical

PwC NZ Hi-Tech Company of the Year Award
Winner: Vista Group