About us

Our Board

Our Board governs Callaghan Innovation’s performance and leads our strategic direction.

Back to top

Pete Hodgson (Chair)

Pete Hodgson is a former Cabinet Minister (New Zealand Government 1999 –2008) governing a variety of portfolios included Research, Science and Technology; Economic Development; and Commerce. Following a period on the Board of Otago Innovation Limited (OIL), Pete was appointed Chief Executive of the company in 2014. OIL is responsible for supporting University of Otago researchers in developing and commercialising their intellectual property.

Pete is also the New Zealand Independent Chair with the Australia and New Zealand Council for the Care of Animals in Research and Teaching. He has a Bachelor's degree in Veterinary Science from Massey University and a Master’s degree in Public Policy (with Distinction) from Victoria University of Wellington.

Back to top

Frances Valintine

Frances Valintine is Founder and Chair of The Mind Lab by Unitec, a first of its kind private public partnership focussed on digital literacy in teaching. Ms Valintine is also the founder and Director of Tech Futures Lab. She sits on the board of NZTech and Education New Zealand. Ms Valintine has a strong interest in disruptive technology, diversity and the power of the community.

Back to top

George Gong

George Gong is an entrepreneur and angel investor with more than 20 years’ rich business experience in the information technology industry. In 2016, he started Zino Ventures, the first Chinese angel fund in New Zealand. Mr Gong has strong connections to China, where he began his career, and notably co-founded Beyondsoft.

Back to top

Jennifer Kerr

Jennifer Kerr has extensive international experience in the HR and health, safety and wellbeing sectors in North America, Europe, the United Kingdom and New Zealand. She was formerly General Manager of Customers, People and Environment at Transpower and Group Director Human Resources and Health & Safety at Fonterra. She has also operated her own consultancy business, and prior to that was the Group Manager of Human Resources for Mobil Oil for all of Europe.

Jennifer has governance experience in the United Kingdom and New Zealand, including pension plan trustee roles in both countries. Jennifer is a member of New Zealand Global Women and has taken an active role during her career in mentoring and coaching other women to achieve their potential. She is of Ngāti Mutunga and Ngāti Tama descent.

Back to top

Robin Hapi

Robin Hapi is currently a member of the New Zealand Trade and Enterprise Board, Chair/Te Amokapua of the Council of Te Wananga o Raukawa, the inaugural recipient of the Haomoana Fellowship at Massey University and a Board member of Te Pou Matakana Ltd the North Island Commissioning Agency for Whanau Ora. Robin also chairs the Te Aute Trust Board Farm Management Committee and is a member of the Serco Aus/Pac Advisory Board.

Robin has extensive experience in the fisheries industry and held the roles of Chair of Aotearoa Fisheries Ltd (AFL) and Board Chair of Sealord Group from 2007 until 2011. He was previously CEO of AFL for three years and CEO of the former Treaty of Waitangi Fisheries Commission for thirteen years.

Robin is of Ngati Kahungunu descent and resides in his hometown of Foxton with his wife Kathy. He was educated at Hato Paora Maori Boys College in Feilding and has an MBA (with Distinction) from Massey University. He was awarded a Massey Medal in 2002. He is a Chartered Fellow of the Institute of Directors, and a Fellow of the Institute of Management. Robin became a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit in the 2016 New Year Honours.

Back to top

Shaun Hendy

Shaun Hendy FRSNZ is Director of Te Pūnaha Matatini, a New Zealand Centre of Research Excellence hosted by the University of Auckland. Shaun teaches in both the Department of Physics and the Centre for Innovation and Entrepreneurship at the University of Auckland. 

Shaun worked as a scientist at Industrial Research Ltd from 1998-2013, and at Callaghan Innovation as an Industry and Outreach Fellow in 2013. He also lectured at Victoria University of Wellington from 2003-2013 and was Deputy Director of the MacDiarmid Institute for Advanced Materials and Nanotechnology from 2008-2012. In 2012, Shaun was awarded the Callaghan Medal by the Royal Society of New Zealand and the Prime Minister’s Science Media Communication Prize for his work as a science communicator. In 2013 he was awarded the E. O. Tuck medal for his research in applied mathematics, and co-authored Get Off the Grass with the late Sir Paul Callaghan. His most recent book, Silencing Science, was released in May 2016.

Back to top

Simon Botherway

Simon Botherway has a Bachelor of Commerce with accounting and marketing majors and is a Chartered Financial Analyst. Mr Botherway has served in a number of chief executive and governance roles and has a strong knowledge of technology and commercialisation. Mr Botherway also spent 12 years managing one of New Zealand’s largest institutional equities mandates, was a member of the Securities Commission and chaired the FMA Establishment Board. Mr Botherway brings extensive knowledge of local and global investment and regulatory regimes.

Back to top

Stefan Korn

Stefan Korn has a strong understanding of Callaghan Innovation’s role in the innovation system as he was a member of the Callaghan Innovation Stakeholder Advisory Group. He currently runs CreativeHQ, a leading business incubator that works with more than 190 startup ventures, and was a founding investor in Lightning Lab.

Updated: 11 October 2018